Home Commentary Heard on the Street, 11.3.21

Heard on the Street, 11.3.21


Housing Trust to Consider Funding Homeless Shelter

A ray of hope for the homeless may be coming from a Montpelier housing committee. The Montpelier Housing Trust Fund Committee meets Nov. 3 to discuss allocating $100,000 to the Good Samaritan Haven to construct a new homeless shelter in Berlin. Good Samaritan Haven requested the funding earlier in the year. Good Samaritan Haven announced in July the organization was seeking to purchase and refurbish the Twin City Motel in order to create new housing for those without shelter. The organization also received funds from the Vermont Housing and Conservation Board. Reconstruction work at the property is already well underway. The original story appeared in The Bridge at montpelierbridge.org/2021/06/twin-city-motel-to-become-homeless-shelter.

KFC Reopens

After undergoing renovations all summer, the Kentucky Fried Chicken restaurant on the Barre-Montpelier Road has reopened. The Bridge observed long lines of cars and trucks on Oct. 30 spilling out into the highway waiting in line at the drive-through window. The local branch of Kentucky Fried Chicken opened on the Barre-Montpelier Road in 1970. The restaurant’s founder, Col. Harland Sanders, visited Barre to commemorate the grand opening that year.

Charlie O’s Seeks Permission to Replace Windows

Charlie O’s, the Montpelier watering hole with the motto “Good Drinks and Bad Company Since the War Between the States,” has applied for permission from the Montpelier Design Review Committee to replace its front windows with garage style windows. Charlie O’s/Great American Enterprise is scheduled to discuss the situation on Nov. 3.

Infrastructure Committee Scrutinizes Public Toilet Use

The Montpelier Transportation Infrastructure committee had scheduled a discussion about public access to restrooms at the Bailey Street transportation hub during their meeting Nov. 2. Additionally, they planned on talking about the budget, the Department of Public Works, their priorities for the upcoming year, and sidewalks. Committee members include Ian Anderson, Stephen Falbel, Peter Luyckx, Hanif Nazerali, Kate McCann, Christian Meyer, and Elizabeth Parker.

—Compiled by Carla Occaso