Home News and Features Skinder Wins Race for High Bailiff

Skinder Wins Race for High Bailiff

Asa Skinder. Courtesy photo
A 19-year-old Montpelier activist will become Washington County’s next high bailiff. Asa Skinder, a Middlebury College sophomore who is working while waiting for in-person classes to resume, defeated incumbent four-term high bailiff Marc Poulin 17,539-13,311 on Tuesday.

Skinder, who ran for the unpaid, seldom-utilized  position when he saw that no Democrat or Progressive was listed on the primary ballot, based his campaign on using the office to further discussion of community policing in the wake of the killing of Black men by police and the Black Lives Matter movement. 

Under state statute, the high bailiff’s role is to arrest the county sheriff, if that were to become necessary, and to step in to run the Washington County Sheriff’s Department if the elected sheriff is arrested, dies, or resigns.

Poulin, a lieutenant with the sheriff’s department, held the high bailiff position for four terms. He says the position has a very narrow definition and is not an oversight position for the sheriff. 

Marc Poulin. Courtesy photo
Skinder won in 16 of Washington County’s 20 towns, losing only in Barre, Barre Town, Berlin and Northfield. Skinder received 49.8 percent of the vote to Poulin’s 37.8.

In other races, maybe it was a referendum on his handling of the COVID-19 pandemic but Montpelier voters backed Gov. Phil Scott for the first time in the Republican’s three gubernatorial victories.

Scott received 2,723 votes to 2,264 for Progressive/Democrat Lt. Gov. David Zuckerman. The 52 percent to 44 percent margin was the first time Montpelier backed Scott over his Democratic challenger. In Scott’s first race in 2016, Democrat Sue Minter defeated Scott in Montpelier 3,172-1,515. In 2018, Democrats Christine Hallquist topped Scott 2,758-1,596.

The virus had a powerful impact on the way Montpelier voters cast their ballots as 4,133 voted early, by mail, dropbox or early in-person methods, and only 1,023 went to the polls on Election Day. These results are unofficial but the total of 5,156 is certain to be a record turnout in the city.

Scott’s chosen running mate Scott Milne did not pick up the governor’s coat tails, however, as Democrat Molly Gray crushed the Pomfret businessman 3,589-1,157 in the race for lieutenant governor.

Incumbents coasted to victory in races for state representative and state senator. Mary Hooper and Warren Kitzmiller will again represent Montpelier in the House, while Sens. Ann Cummings, Andrew Perchlik and Anthony Pollina were reelected to the Senate.

At the top of the ballot, former Vice President Joe Biden trounced President Donald Trump 4,576-468 among city voters.

Here are the unofficial results in Montpelier:


Biden-Harris 4576

Blankenship-Mohr 1

Carroll-Patel 2

Collins-Parker 0

De La Fuente-Richardson 0

Duncan-Bupp 0

Hawkins-Walker 41

Huber-Atwood 1

Jorgenson-Cohen 30

Kennedy-Jarrett 3

Kopitke-Iwanow 1

Lafontaine-Speed 12

Lariva-Freeman 1

McCormic-Blasiak 2

Paige-Witman 4

Pierce-Ballard 1

Scalf-Lyda 0

Segal-Graaf 2

Swing-Oltsza 1

Trump-Pence 468

West-Tidball 10


Becker 31

Berry 446

Helali 100

Horne 77

Orr 12

Trudell 13

Welch 4356


Billado 8

Devost 6

Dickerson 15

Hoyt 13

Peyton 42

Scott 2723

Whitney 17

Zuckerman 2264

Lt Governor

Billado 33

Corbo 42

Ericson 160

Gray 3589

Milne 1157


Branagan 508

Ericson 207

Pearce 4071

Wright 109

Secretary of State

Condos 4157

Ericson 160

Paige 442

Smith 163


Ericson 763

Hoffer 3727

Attorney General

Donovan 4037

Ericson 275

Paige 478

State Senator (choose three)

Alger 553

Cummings 3860

Perchlik 3425

Pollina 3341

Tomasi 670

Tucker 563

Vallerand 259

State Representative (choose two)

Hooper 3897

Kitzmiller 3189

Sewell 1107

High Baliff

Poulin 884

Skinder 3536

Justice Of The Peace (choose 15)

Aguayo 1647

Badamo 1720

Bloom 1841

Brown 2101

Cheney 2590

Gross 1550

Guertin 2249

Hooper 3066

Householder 1496

Johnson 2330

Kidd 1582

Lenz-McQuilken 2118

Lewis 2116

McCullough 2021

Newman 2055

Norton 1180

Simpson 2011

Wild 1648